Fri. Mar 1st, 2024

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) continues its dominance at the House of Senate after securing 49 out of the 89 seats announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

It was reported that the opposition parties must scrabble for the remaining 40 seats in the red chamber.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 28 seats; the resurgent Labour Party secured six seats, while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) both won two seats each at the red chamber.
The Young Progressive Party (YPP) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) have so far produced one senator each.
With 49 senators, the ruling party is set to maintain majority in the 10th Senate.
There are 109 seats in the Red Chamber, made up of three seats per state and one for FCT.
A party with a simple majority produces presiding officers called President of the Senate and Deputy Senate President.
Meanwhile, last Saturday’s parliamentary poll has continued to throw up shocks and upsets as more serving governors were defeated in the election. Governors Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Darius Ishaku (Taraba), Samuel Ortom (Benue), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Ben Ayade (Cross River) lost their bids to represent their senatorial districts in the parliament.
Only two, governors Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger) and Dave Umahi (Ebonyi) won.
The result of the Sokoto South senatorial election, which Governor Aminu Tambuwal contested, was declared inconclusive over irregularities, including over-voting.
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)
has cleared all the senatorial seats in Kaduna, the state government, by Nasir El-Rufai, a prominent figure of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Sunday Katung, a former member of the House of Representatives, won the Kaduna-South senatorial district seat, Channels Television reported.
Katung of the PDP polled a total of 138,246 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mike Auta of the Labour Party, who scored 101,479 votes. Bulus Audu and Mechaiah Tokwak, the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) who garnered 77,758 and 8,140.
In the Kaduna North Senatorial District, the PDP candidate, Khalid Ibrahim-Mustapha emerged winner after polling a total of 250,026 votes to defeat the incumbent senator, Suleiman Abdu- Kwari of the APC who scored 190,008 votes.
The Returning Officer for the election, Saleh Ado of the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, also announced that Usman Bawa of NNPP scored 28,511 to come third, while Sidi Ibrahim Bamalli of the Labour Party polled 28,418 votes to clinch the fourth position. Lawal Usman of the PDP also won the Kaduna Central Senatorial seat. He scored a total of 250,066 votes to defeat his closest rival, Muhammad Abdullahi of the All Progressives Congress who got 182,035 votes. In the other results, the candidate of the Labour Party (LP) Ibrahim Muhammad Sani polled 87, 510 while Umar Ahmad Tijjani of the NNPP polled 24,395 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *